Photo tips, tricks and my latest captures

Loons

I had the good fortune of spending a few days in the Upper Michigan area recently. My first stop was the Miners fall, Pictured Rock National Lakeshore. On the way  to the falls, I  saw this patch of forest that was covered with  beautiful wild flowers.

D3, F13, 1/2 sec, 38mm, ISO 200

Then I drove further south to a small lake to photograph loons. The area is known for at least two pair of resident loons. I was hoping to see babies on mothers  backs. Unfortunately I was too early for the babies.

D3, 600mm, ISO 200, 1/640, F8

This is one of my favorite images from the outing. The backlit loon against the morning fog made a perfect capture.

One of the loons I was watching decided to take off.

D3, 600mm, F5.6, ISO 400, 1/800

Day after I took this picture, a racoon distroyed all the eggs.

D3, ISO 640, F6.3, 1/2500, 600mm

This loon was swimming very close to the boat. I was on my belly trying to get the lowest possible angle I could get. I used a bean bag to steady the lens.

D3, 1/800, ISO 400, F5.6, 600mm

The wing flap.

D3, 1/1250, ISO 640, F 6.3, 600mm

Head portrait.

Leave a Reply

