Photo tips, tricks and my latest captures

Fall colors.

Fall is my favorite time of the year. Last few years I have been going to Northern Minnesota during the last week September. Last year I was early for the peak colors but this year it was perfect timing.
I camped at Temperance river state park. My camp site was over looking the lake superior. It was spectacular.
I used a polarizing filter for all my shots. It gets rid of the reflections and intensifies the colors. It works best when the sun angle is 90 degrees to the lens. For best colors prey for overcast skies.
Some people swear by ND filters but I seldom used them.  I can replicate this effect by  bracketing and merging them in Photoshop.

Here are few images from Oberg trail near Lutsen, MN.
Taken with D3 and 16-35/F4VR and 70-200VR lenses

Oberg Trail

D3 and 16-35 VR

D3 and 70-200VR

D3 and 16-35Vr

D3 and 16-35VR

Leave a Reply

