Photo tips, tricks and my latest captures

Botswana 2012 Trip Preperation

Cheetah family, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania

My Botswana safari is almost around the corner. This will be my third trip to Africa.
I have been debating what equipment to take on my trip. Unlike Tanzania and Kenya the vehicles used in Botswana have open tops. That means using bean bags ( that work very well in Tanzania) going to be difficult.. My trusty 600VR is too heavy to handhold. After doing lots of research I have decided to leave my 600 behind.
I take the Botswana air flight from Johannesburg to Maun, to get to Botswana. Their carry on wt limit is 7kg and check luggage limit is 20kg. This also factored into not taking the big lens.

Here is my finalized equipment list.
Lenses.

200-400VR will be my main safari lens. 70-200VR and 24-70/2.8 will be my other lenses.

Camera
D800 is the main camera and D3 will be backup. I am also excited to use Nikon V1 mirror-less camera and FT-1 adaptor on this trip. The adaptor allow me to use all my Nikon lenses on V1 . With the 2.7 crop factor my 400mm will become almost 1000mm.

Camera bag- Gura gear kiboku

Carbon Fiber Gitzo tripod, a monopod ,RRR BH4 head and two bean bags . The bean bags get filled with beans in Botswana .

Ultra book computer for editing and iPad
1tb hard drive, 160 GB hyperdrive and 150gb cf cards for storage

It is rainy season in Botswana so I will be carrying my light rain coat, covers for my bags and few garbage bags to cover the lenses.
Tape, utility knife, head lamp and paper clips
Pillow case to cover camera during the day- it is dusty over there.
Lens cleaner, paint brush to clean the lenses and a rocket blower to clean the sensor if needed.
List of all camera gear and the serial numbers in case of a loss.
Battery charges and extra batteries.
SB 900 flash with better Beamer .
Personal items and medications.

2 responses

  1. reading along!!! and have fun, i come from there….

    November 25, 2012 at 1:26 am

  2. Sal

    Its like you read my mind! You seem to know so much about this, like you wrote
    the book in it or something. I think that you could do with
    a few pics to drive the message home a little bit,
    but instead of that, this is great blog. A great read.
    I’ll definitely be back.

    July 13, 2013 at 10:10 pm

Leave a Reply

